skip to Main Content
Stay Motivated & Focused!

Stay motivated & focused!

When there is so much uncertainty around, and constant changes to your routine, it’s hard to stay motivated and focused. Upon your return to on-site learning, continue with these tips to try to help you stay positive and help you stay motivated with schoolwork:

Plan your day/week.

Make sure you have a clear plan for the day so that when you get up to start school, you know what to expect. If you have a diary you should write down what time classes are and what assignments are due and when. That way you have a clear understanding of what you have to do for the day, and you’ll have a better chance of handing your work in on time.

Set goals.

If setting a big goal feels overwhelming to you then break it down into smaller steps. For example, if you are about to start an assignment, break it down into sections. Allocate time for research and study, allocate time to write different parts of the assignment, and allocate time to proofread. The timeline for your goals needs to be realistic. If you don’t give yourself enough time, you’ll feel less motivated to keep trying if you have set yourself up to fail.

Make a deal with yourself.

This is a good technique for overcoming procrastination and getting things done on time. You can make a deal with yourself, that if you reach one of your goals you reward yourself and do something that you enjoy!

Do the hardest task first and start slow.

If you do the toughest task first, then it will ease a lot of your worries and you’ll feel more confident for the rest of the day. Also, start working slowly on any task instead of jumping into something at full pace.

Don’t compare yourself to others.

Comparing yourself to someone else is never helpful for anyone. Everyone is different and we all have different strengths and weaknesses. If you focus on other people’s achievements instead of your own, you will lose motivation. Focus on yourself and listen to feedback from teachers so that you know where you can improve.

Stay positive.

In times like these it can be hard for some people to keep negative thoughts away. It’s hard to stay positive all the time, but the more you practise staying positive, the more you retrain your brain to stay positive! When you are in a good head space, everything feels easier!


We’re all in this together, so ask for help as soon as you need it.   –    Rutherglen High School Nurse, Shannon

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top